Landmark Title

An attorney owned title company providing outstanding customer service to the North Florida area

Search Our Site

Phone: (904) 998-9733      Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Find Our Most Frequently Asked Questions Below

Title Insurance protects you against losses due to defects in the title to the property and expenses in legal defense.

Your ownership is authenticated and will be promptly defended against any claims in court, if necessary at no cost to you, whether a claim is valid or not.

If a valid claim is made against your title as covered by your policy, the title insurer protects you by bearing the cost of settling the claim should it prove valid, in order to protect your title and keep you in possession of your property or mortgage.

A title search is a detailed examination of the historical records concerning a property. These records include deeds, court records, property and name indexes, and many other documents. The purpose of the search is to verify the seller's right to transfer ownership, and to discover any claims, defects and other rights or encumbrances on the property.

The Florida Department of Insurance regulates the rates that title insurers can charge consumers.

The Florida Promulgated Rates for an owner's policy are as follows:
• $5.75 per $1,000 of value for the first $100,000.00
• $5.00 per $1,000 of value thereafter for purchase prices up to $1,000,000.00

Please contact us for rates for owners or mortgage policies above $1,000,000.00.

If the property that is being sold is improved property and the seller has owned this property three years or less and has a copy of their owner's policy, then the seller will be given re-issue credit up to the amount of his/her policy. If the property that is being sold is unimproved property, or if the property is being refinanced there is no time limit; this credit will be given based on the value of the current owner's policy.

The Re-Issue Rates for an owners or mortgage policies are as follows:
• $3.30 per $1,000.00 of value for the first $100,000.00
• $3.00 per $1,000.00 of value thereafter for purchase prices up to $1,000,000.00

• Situational

Yes, in Florida a married person can acquire (purchase) and convey (sell) property individually. However, Florida Law states that in the case of homestead property (primary residence), the spouse must join in the conveyance or mortgage, even if that spouse is not on the title to the property.

To file for Homestead, choose the county below where your property is located.

You must file by March 1st!
When can I file?
You can File for the Homestead Exemption as soon as you receive your recorded warranty deed from us (within 4-6 weeks.)
Where do I go file in person?
Property Appraiser’s Office
231 E. Forsyth Street, Suite 260
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Where do I go to file online?
http://www.coj.net/departments/property-appraiserexemptions.aspx
What documents do I need?
Your recorded Deed or Tax Bill
Florida Driver’s License (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Permanent Resident Card (Non-US Citizen)
Vehicle Registration (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Social Security Number
Duval County Voter Registration ID (Must update with new property address prior to filing)

You must file by March 1st!
When can I file?
You can File for the Homestead Exemption as soon as you receive your recorded warranty deed from us (within 4-6 weeks.)
Where do I go file in person?
County Administration Building
477 Houston St.
Green Cove Springs, FL 32043
or
Tax Collector’s Office – Park Avenue Branch
1518 Park Ave.
Orange Park, FL 32073
Can I file online?
No, at this time Clay County does not offer a feature to file online.
What documents do I need?
Your recorded Deed or Tax Bill
Florida Driver’s License (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Permanent Resident Card (Non-US Citizen)
Vehicle Registration (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Social Security Number
Clay County Voter Registration ID (Must update with new property address prior to filing)

You must file by March 1st!
When can I file?
You can File for the Homestead Exemption as soon as you receive your recorded warranty deed from us (within 4-6 weeks.)
Where do I go file in person?
Property Appraiser’s Office
4030 Lewis Speedway, Suite 203
Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Where do I go to file online?
http://hx.sjcpa.us/applyonline/webform1.aspx
What documents do I need?
Your recorded Deed or Tax Bill
Florida Driver’s License (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Permanent Resident Card (Non-US Citizen)
Vehicle Registration (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Social Security Number
St. John’s County Voter Registration ID (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Address of owner(s) who do not reside on the property

You must file by March 1st!
When can I file?
You can File for the Homestead Exemption as soon as you receive your recorded warranty deed from us (within 4-6 weeks.)
Where do I go file in person?
James S. Page Governmental Complex
96135 Nassau Place, Suite 4
Yulee, FL 32097
Or
Historical Courthouse
416 Centre Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
Or
Callahan County Building
45401 Mickler Street
Callahan, FL 32011
Where do I go to file online?
http://www.nassauflpa.com/file-for-homestead
What documents do I need?
Your recorded Deed or Tax Bill
Florida Driver’s License (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Vehicle Registration (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Permanent Resident Card (Non-US Citizen)
Social Security Number
Nassau County Voter Registration ID (Must update with new property address prior to filing)
Tax Bill showing no other Homestead Exemptions

Facebook   Instagram   Google

Jacksonville Office

4540 Southside Blvd., Suite 202
Jacksonville, Florida 32216

Riverside Office

2063 Oak Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32204
By appointment only

Saint Johns Office

135 Durbin Station Court, Suite 501
St. Johns, Florida 32259

World Golf Village Office

100 E. Town Place, Suite 204
St. Augustine, Florida 32092
By appointment only

Fleming Island Office

1590 Island Ln #1
Fleming Island, Florida 32003

St. Augustine Office

184 State Road 312
St. Augustine, Florida 32086
By appointment only

Jax Beach Office

1680 The Greens Way #200
Jacksonville Beach, Florida 32250
By appointment only


Jacksonville Business Journal Fastest 50


2015 Gator 100 Award


First American Title Top Agent 2014 and Platinum Agent 2016


Old Republic Premier Agent 2013 2015 2016


Fidelity Achievers Circle Award 2015

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account